Rapamycin, sold generically as sirolimus, is an immunosuppressant. Approved since 1999 [6], its FDA-approved uses are preventing organ rejection after a kidney transplant and treating lymphangioleiomyomatosis (LAM), a rare lung disease [1]. Taking it to slow aging is off-label: legal for a clinician to prescribe, but not a use FDA has reviewed. The evidence is mostly from mice, as our rapamycin guide explains. Below: how to get it legitimately.
Rapamycin needs a prescription, and longevity use is off-label
You can't buy rapamycin over the counter in the U.S. It's a prescription drug with a boxed warning: suppressing the immune system raises the risk of infection and of lymphoma and other cancers [1]. That warning is written for transplant patients on higher, daily doses, but it's the reason any prescriber will want your history first.
Off-label means a licensed clinician prescribes an approved drug for a use that isn't on its label. It's common in medicine and legal. It also means no FDA review stands behind the longevity claim, so the decision rests on your prescriber's judgment and the published evidence.
| Route | Prescription from | Product | Monthly cost | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Telehealth longevity program | The program's clinician, licensed in your state | Generic or compounded oral rapamycin | $65–$207/mo | What's included: labs, follow-ups, the drug itself |
| Your own doctor, retail pharmacy | Your doctor, off-label | Generic sirolimus tablets | Varies by pharmacy | Many doctors decline off-label longevity prescriptions |
| Compounded, via program or pharmacy | A licensed clinician | Compounded rapamycin | Varies | Ask which pharmacy makes it |
| Hyftor gel (brand) | A prescriber, for its approved use | Sirolimus topical gel | Varies; ask your pharmacy | Approved only for facial angiofibroma in tuberous sclerosis |
| Compounded rapamycin cream | A prescriber, off-label | Pharmacy-made cream | Varies | One small trial; no approved anti-aging use |
| "Research" or no-prescription sellers | Nobody | Unknown | n/a | Avoid: unverified drug, no clinician |
Program range is the two programs that publish a monthly rapamycin price, taken from each provider's own site.
Route 1: a telehealth longevity program screens you, then prescribes
A few telehealth programs prescribe rapamycin for healthy aging. The process is a health intake, a review by a clinician licensed in your state, usually blood work, then a prescription filled by a partner pharmacy and shipped to you. Expect follow-up questions and repeat labs, because of the immune effects.
| Provider | Product | Form | Monthly cost | Labs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AgelessRx | Compounded or generic options | Oral | $65/moMonthly | Baseline and ongoing blood work included |
| HealthRXPartner | Prescription rapamycin | Oral | $152/moMonthly; lower with 3/6/12-month prepay | Not stated on the plan |
| Midi Health | Listed among options its clinicians may prescribe | Not stated | No price publishedVisit-based | Ordered as needed |
Alphabetical. Prices from each provider's own site; monthly cost is the price per calendar month on the shortest plan.
AgelessRx deserves a note. Its employees and shareholders ran and published PEARL, a year-long placebo-controlled trial of low-dose compounded rapamycin in healthy adults. PEARL missed its primary outcome: visceral fat didn't change. Some secondary measures improved in subgroups, such as lean mass in women on the higher dose [3]. Read it as a seller's own study.
Route 2: your own doctor can prescribe generic sirolimus
Any licensed physician can write an off-label prescription for sirolimus, and a retail pharmacy can fill it as the generic tablet. Whether yours will is another matter. Many primary care doctors aren't comfortable prescribing an immunosuppressant to a healthy patient without a clear indication.
If you ask, bring the evidence and be ready for monitoring. The sirolimus label says only physicians experienced in immunosuppressive therapy should use it to prevent organ rejection [1]; that's the transplant setting, but it explains the caution. Retail prices for generic sirolimus vary by pharmacy and dose, so ask for a quote before you fill.
Route 3: compounded rapamycin is made to order by a pharmacy
Some programs and doctors use compounded rapamycin, made by a pharmacy rather than bought as a manufactured tablet. The PEARL trial used compounded rapamycin [3]. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, so nobody at FDA checks their strength or quality before they're dispensed.
If your prescription is compounded, ask which pharmacy makes it, whether that pharmacy is licensed in your state, and whether the product is a tablet or capsule. A program that won't say is harder to check.
Rapamycin cream: one approved gel, and compounded creams for skin aging
The only FDA-approved topical rapamycin is Hyftor, a sirolimus gel. Its label limits it to facial angiofibroma, a skin growth caused by tuberous sclerosis, in adults and children 6 and older [2]. It isn't approved for wrinkles or skin aging.
Creams sold for skin aging are compounded and off-label. The main human study is small: 36 people over 40 enrolled in a randomized trial of topical rapamycin, and 19 dropped out or were lost to follow-up. Those who finished had lower levels of p16, a marker of aging cells, and more collagen VII in skin samples [4]. That's a promising signal, not proof a cream changes how skin ages.
What a careful program asks before it prescribes
Because rapamycin suppresses parts of the immune system, a careful prescriber asks a lot. Expect questions like these, and be wary of a program that asks none of them:
- Your history of infections, cancer and immune conditions.
- Every medicine you take, since many drugs change sirolimus levels.
- Upcoming surgery or vaccines.
- Baseline blood work, such as blood counts, cholesterol and glucose.
- A plan for repeat labs and for stopping if problems show up.
Metformin is the other off-label longevity prescription people ask about. The metformin and longevity guide covers its evidence, and the guide to microdosing GLP-1s covers the newest longevity pitch.
Red flags: rapamycin with no prescription
- Sold as a "research compound" or "not for human consumption".
- No clinician, no health questions, no prescription.
- No pharmacy named, or a pharmacy outside the U.S.
- Promises that it reverses aging or extends life.
FDA's BeSafeRx program explains how to confirm an online pharmacy is state-licensed and requires a valid prescription [5]. A seller that fails those basics is offering a drug you can't verify.
What rapamycin costs through a program
Program prices currently run $65–$207 a month. The gap comes from what's bundled: one program includes baseline and ongoing labs in its monthly price, while the other lists cheaper rates for paying three, six or twelve months up front. Compare the total for a year, including any separate lab or visit fees.
For how these programs compare on more than price, see longevity prescription programs, scored, and how we score for what the numbers mean.